Diocese seeks input for a Shared Vision and Pastoral Priority Plan

Bishop Joseph Kopacz  has launched a year-long process of discerning and proclaiming a shared vision and priorities for the church in this part of Mississippi. The process will be facilitated by Catholic Leadership Institute (CLI), an organization dedicated to helping strengthen the church through leadership formation and consultation. While the process is very structured it starts and ends with the people.
The Diocese has announced 15 listening sessions across the state for the faithful. Chancery staff and priests will have their own sessions. A facilitator trained by Catholic Leadership Institute will lead a structured discussion about people’s hopes and dreams and a scribe will record each session. The faithful will also be invited to answer some questions in writing at the sessions. The listening sessions are bilingual. A Leadership Council of representatives will then be commissioned by Bishop Kopacz to go through training from CLI, sort through the responses and prayerfully discern a shared vision and a set of pastoral priorities to move the diocese forward for the next 3-5 years. Please make plans to attend a session to help with this process. The schedule is below and is attached as a downloadable document.

Listening sessions flyer:
SPANISH listening sessions flyer

Developing a Diocesan Vision

Mon., Feb. 15 St. Dominic Center, Toulouse Bldg 6:30 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 16 Meridian, St. Patrick 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 17 Vicksburg, St. Paul 6:30 p.m.
Thur, Feb. 18 Brookhaven, St. Francis 6:30 p.m.
Sun, Feb. 21 Southaven, Christ the King 4:00 p.m with dinner
Mon, Feb. 22 Clarksdale, St. Elizabeth 6:30 p.m.
Tues, Feb. 23 Madison, St. Francis 6:30 p.m.
Wed, Feb. 24 Tupelo, St. James 6:30 p.m.
Thur, Feb. 25 Starkville, St. Joseph 6:30 p.m.
Sun, Feb. 28 Greenwood, Immaculate Heart of Mary 4:00 p.m.
Mon, Feb. 29 Greenville, St. Joseph 6:30 p.m.
Tues, Mar. 1 Natchez, St. Mary 6:30 p.m.
Wed, Mar. 2 Batesville, St. Mary 6:30 p.m.