The worldwide Catholic Church is divided into episcopal conferences, dioceses and eparchies which are geographic territories administered by bishops. The Diocese of Jackson covers 65 counties in the state of Mississippi, from Woodville to Corinth, Vicksburg to Meridian, Paulding to Southaven. It includes 94 parishes and missions and 19 schools and learning centers. Read more about Church structure.

The bishop administers the diocese from the Chancery, which is divided into departments and offices to see to both the administrative and spiritual well-being of the faithful in our communities. Chancery Structure.

2018 Deanery Map for Catholic Diocese of Jackson

The history of the Diocese of Jackson is full of colorful, faith-filled characters. Read more …


Mission Statement

The mission of the Catholic Diocese of Jackson is to proclaim Jesus as Savior by living the Gospel, so that all people may experience the crucified and risen Lord.

“For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty
and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me,
naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me,
in prison and you visited me.”
Matthew 25:35-36

This mission statement, launched by Bishop Joseph Kopacz and his envisioning team in January 2017, is just part of a new set of pastoral priorities for the Diocese of Jackson. Learn more about the priorities and how you can be a part of the new mission and vision here.